Boston Cream Pod Coffee Review


Every Friday at Cross Country Cafe we host a flavor review.  Most of these reviews are done by a coffee expert sometimes they will be done by yours truly (I am not quite an expert… yet!). I love posting these reviews for you because lets face it the selection of K-cups and pods we  have to choose from is huge,  how do you pick the right one?  Who wants to buy an entire box and not like it?! Our goal is to describe how the coffee tastes so that you can determine if it suits your preferences.

Lets get to todays review; Donut Shop Classics Boston Cream Pods.

Yes,  you heard right… pods.  I love Keurig Kcups… love talking about them, love reviewing them, LOVE drinking them! However,  I do not want to ignore our line of gourmet coffee pods.  I am especially fond of the Donut Shop Classics group of flavors.  Listen to these names; Cinnamon Coffee Cake,  Apple Fritter, Double Dipped Chocolate, Maple Glazed, Blueberry Cobbler, Chocolate Coconut Cake, French Vanilla Cruller, Jelly Filled  and my favorite Boston Cream.  With names like that, how can you go wrong?  I have enjoyed all of these coffees several times and I am here to tell you, they really do live up their titles.  The flavors are dead on.  The Apple Fritter smells like an apple pie warming in the oven as it is brewing, the delicious aromas of cinnamon float through the air the second Cinnamon Coffee Cake hits your mug.

Today,  I wanted to share with you my review of Boston Cream.

I may be a bit biased because I absolutely love Boston Cream, the combination of rich, creamy vanilla, a buttery cake and a bit of chocolate. I mean,  seriously,  can you get a better combination?!  Now,  how do I describe how this coffee tastes?  You know the old saying “a picture is worth a thousand words”?  Well,  in the form of a picture,  this is my description of Boston Cream coffee pods:

The first impression of Boston Cream is the vanilla aroma.  But,  it is not your typical flowery vanilla,  it is muted by hints of chocolate and a slight hint of butter.  Several flavored coffees try to overwhelm you with all flavor,  no coffee.  Donut Shop Classics has done a lovely job of keeping the flavor as an undertone and the rich coffee taste prevalent.  You know as well I as I do,  you can not do this if you don’t start with a very high quality coffee.  This line of pods is proudly made with 100% Arabica beans (Arabica is the best!).

I have been truly impressed with Donut Shop Classics pods.  I was very hesitant when we decided to add pods to our line of single serve coffee,  I had very low expectations.  I have tried a line that rhymes with Blenseo that was quite frankly… horrible.  I have noticed a huge increase in the quality of this form of single serve coffee.  Competition on the market place always benefits the consumer by forcing manufacturers to produce superior products in order to maintain their presence.  I am quite sure this is what has happened with pods.

I am using a Hamilton Beach one cup single serve brewer.  It is so tiny and cute.  Its simplicity is very appealing to me,  I am not one for bells and whistles,  as long as it brews the coffee well every single day,  I am thrilled. The best part is my tiny, cute Hamilton Beach is extremely cost-effective.

While we are on the subject of Donut Shop Classics,  we have BIG NEWS!  I am happy to announce that thanks to a customer request we will be adding Donut Shop Classics ground coffees to our ever-expanding product family!  We will be starting with 3-4 flavors and over the next few months hopefully,  we will be including all of the Donut Shop Classics pods flavors in the form of ground coffees.  Yay,  I am so excited!!

Have I peaked your interest?  I am so confident that you will love this flavor but,  if you are not convinced please,  just let me know and I would be glad to send you a sample.

2 thoughts on “Boston Cream Pod Coffee Review

Leave a Reply

