Twinings Green Tea Kcup Review


Every Friday at Cross Country Cafe we host a flavor review.  Most of these reviews are done by a coffee expert sometimes they will be done by yours truly (I am not quite an expert… yet!). I love posting these reviews for you because lets face it the selection of K-cups we  have to choose from is huge,  how do you pick the right one?  Who wants to buy an entire box and not like it?! Our goal is to describe how the coffee tastes so that you can determine if it suits your preferences.

Lets get to todays review; Twinings Green Tea Kcups.

First,  I wanted to share a little about Twinings.  When it comes to tea they are the ultimate authority. Twinings began selling tea over 300 years ago in England.  This company is steeped (no pun intended) in history.  Jane Austen, Charles the 2nd and the Archbishop of Canterbury are among their many famous customers.  Twinings developed the recipe for English Breakfast Tea,  one of today most popular blends along with Irish Breakfast and Ceylon.  But,  what impresses me most about this company is they have stuck with what they know and become true authorities on the subject of tea.  This is one of those companies you can truly trust and we are so thrilled to have them as a Kcup partner.

I am a part time tea drinker.  Coffee is definitely my first love but,  mid morning,  a lot of evenings and many, many cold days I have been known to drink my fair share of hot tea.  I generally stick with India Spice Chai Tea Kcups.  But,  I do drink a Green Tea Kcup everyday over ice!  I would love to say that I do it for all the health benefits of Green Tea,  although that is a huge benefit of this beverage, I do it strictly because it tastes great and is extremely refreshing.

Twinings Green Tea is a true Green Tea,  if you are a drinker of this blend you understand what I am saying.  There are so many “green teas” out there that are simply the flavor of green tea,  they are fake, watered down and loaded with sugar or artificial flavoring.  If that is what your taste buds crave,  this is not the Kcup for you.  Twinings does not attempt to cover the true taste of their Green Tea and I love them for that! My buddy Jason Coffee (before you ask,  I dont know if is last name is really Coffee,  I am dying to find out though!) at Coffee Cup News describes it as “grassy”  and I tend to agree with him but,  I want you to understand that in my book “grassy”  is a good thing.  It may not be in yours and that is ok,  that is why we have these reviews!

Lets see how Jason describes Twinings Green Tea Kcups:

Leave a Reply

