Easy Coffee Body Scrub Recipe


I recently purchased a jar of a lovely homemade coconut body scrub and fell in love!  After using just a tiny amount my skin felt soft, moisturized and just plain good.  The only draw back was the cost.  As I looked at the ingredients I thought,  heck I can make this at home for pennies!  All body scrubs have three main ingredients, an exfoliant, an oil and a fragrance.

You can use many different all natural items easily found in your home as the exfoliant; salt, sugar, oatmeal and low and behold,  wouldn’t you know it- GROUND COFFEE! Now I was really intrigued.

Did you know that coffee grounds offer a ton of benefits for your complexion? Caffeine is a vasodilator which works to firm and tighten your skin.  I don’t know about you but,  I can definitely use some firming and tightening : ) . Coffee is chock full of antioxidants that help combat free radicals in your cells and reverse signs of damage to your skin.  Coffee applied to your face or any other area will immediately reduce redness and inflammation.   Coffee is also noted to reduce cellulite, help in treatment of varicose veins, reduce the appearance of fine lines.  The benefits go on and on,  there are even studies proving that caffeine can inhibit the growth of skin cancer cells.

All of these benefits are great,  to me however,  I enjoy this scrub simply because it feels indulgent and I love the way my skin feels after I use it.  I hope you will as well!

Let’s get to the recipe:

  • 1 cup ground coffee (used)
  • 1 Tbsp  sea salt
  • 1/3 cup (approx) sweet almond oil or other oil (I chose Sunflower oil because it was easiest to find at my grocery store and the lowest in cost)
  • 1 tsp ground cinnamon
  • 8 drops grapefruit essential oil, 8 drops orange, 4 drops peppermint (these certainly can be adjusted to suit your preferences I bought mine at Whole Foods)

Mix coffee, salt, and essential oils in a bowl. Slowly add the sunflower oil, stirring continuously, until mixture reaches the consistency of moist sand.

Not only did I enjoy this scrub but,  I was thrilled to re-purpose my coffee grounds.  I used Donut Shop Classics Cinnamon Coffee Cake grounds because the smell from the Donut Shop line is AMAZING!  But,  for my next batch I plan to use the grinds from my K-Cup coffee.  I have a jar sitting next to my brewer that I am dumping my spent Kcup grounds in each morning. Take note:  the grinds are HOT immediately following a brew cycle,  I found this out the hard way!

Once I accumulate enough grinds (which wont take me long!) I plan to make several batches to give a holiday gifts for my friends and family.  I love the thought that comes with homemade gifts especially one  that I know the women in my life with thoroughly enjoy!

6 thoughts on “Easy Coffee Body Scrub Recipe

  1. Interesting. How will the grounds do the plumbing? Salt & sugar dissolve, but the grounds wouldn’t (I don’t think)….might cause a plumbing back up?

    • Good question and one I would never think of!! So far I have not had a problem but perhaps I will start wiping it off rather than splashing over the sink. You may have just saved me a call to a plumber!

  2. 9 Ways to Re-use Keurig K-cup Coffee Grinds « Cross Country Cafe

  3. Coffee is a vasoconstrictor. It makes your blood vessels smaller and less noticeable. It constricts them to conceal redness.

Leave a Reply

