Show Us Your Mug


Have you ever notice that coffee, tea and hot cocoa taste just a little bit better in a great mug?  I for one,  am a fanatic about the mug I drink out of. My morning coffee is my favorite time of day and I want the experience to be perfect in every way.  If I am not pleased with the mug I have chosen,  it takes a bit of joy away from the moment.I am guessing if I feel this way, several of you do as well.  For this reason we are starting a new series of posts at the Cross Country Cafe blog – Show us Your Mug! Each week I will pick a mug picture submitted by a reader, me or simply a cute mug I come across online or in a store.

This weeks mug was submitted by…yours truly (and my entire family!)

Cake Boss I Cupcake Buddy Jumbo Mug

We are trying to start a new tradition of gifting experiences rather than things.  It is wonderful, the kids are thrilled and we are creating priceless memories. My husband, our daughters and I are HUGE Cake Boss fans,  so much so that we decided to take our daughter to visit Carlos Bakery for her 14th birthday!

We had a fantastic time, Hoboken is a town filled with tons of charm.  We were expecting a long line and a packed bakery but,  were thrilled on our first day to find Carlos pretty much empty.

We enjoyed cannoli, crumb cake, cupcakes, cookies and their famous lobster tails! The only bad new was… no Buddy. We tried to stalk him down a back alley but, no luck : (

When we went back the next morning there was a bit of a line but, still not bad.  Thinking that we would be back for a third time the following day (I wasn’t kidding when I said we loved it) we did not buy the souvenir mug that we had every intention of taking home with us.

Much to our dismay on visit #3,  there was a TOUR BUS waiting outside Carlos and a huge line to boot.  I tried cutting,  (I needed that mug and more cannoli) but,  I got busted-  ok, ok I am not that brave… I was so oblivious that there was actually a line I walked right in and the 100 people waiting were pointed out to me by a helpful bakery employee- oops.

Needless to say,  we did not wait and did not get the mug we were in hot pursuit of.  So… Amazon.com here we come.  I already have the “I cupcake Buddy” mug en route to my house and cant wait to receive it.  Every time I drink my Keurig K-cup coffee I will think of this wonderful family trip and smile.

Do you have a souvenir mug that you purchased from a family vacation?  We would love to see it please submit a picture and short paragraph about your trip to aprilkschroeder@yahoo.com.

Leave a Reply

