Show Us Your Mug


Have you ever notice that coffee, tea and hot cocoa taste just a little bit better in a great mug?  I for one,  am a fanatic about the mug I drink out of. My morning coffee is my favorite time of day and I want the experience to be perfect in every way.  If I am not pleased with the mug I have chosen,  it takes a bit of joy away from the moment. For this reason we are starting a new series of posts at the Cross Country Cafe blog – Show us Your Mug! Each week I will pick a mug picture submitted by a reader, me or simply a cute mug I come across online or in a store.

I am inviting you this week to join me on my holiday mug shopping.  Every year I purchase a new holiday ish mug to enjoy for the season as well as a mug for my 9-year-old daughter.  I really enjoy these simple traditions.  We look forward to our new mug each year and look back fondly on mugs of the past that have significance pertaining to the events of that year.

fun holiday traditions

I have a few traditions like that in my life.  I always buy an ornament when we go on vacation.  When we are decorating the tree we reminisce about the origins of these special mementos. I have a family member who brings me silly Christmas socks every year… they probably cost $1.00 but,  boy do I look forward to those crazy socks! A friend of mine presents her husband and three (soon to be four!) children with new super cozy jammies every Christmas Eve (I may need to steal this idea from her!).

These traditions may seem insignificant or overly simplified but,  I love them.  It would be easy to just let them go and not put forth the effort to carry them on year after year but,  they have become a fun part of our family and I plan to continue them on well into the future and hopefully add more along the way!

I have two missions for you.

First,  if you have a simple family tradition please share.  You may inspire another family to spread this joy.

Second, HELP ME PICK OUT A MUG for my daughter!  I can’t decide!  I have narrowed it down to a few,  take a look and then cast your vote : )

1)Jack Skellington from “Nightmare Before Christmas” one of her favorite movies.

Disney Park Cool Nightmare Before Christmas Jack Skellington Mug NEW

2)”A Christmas Story” mug, our all time favorite holiday movie!

A Christmas Story ‘Deranged Easter Bunny’ Ceramic Coffee Mug

3)A Panda,  my daughter is absolutely obsessed with Pandas at the current moment as you can tell by her ever growing Panda family:

Stuffed Panda family

 

 

 

 

 

One more Panda wouldn’t hurt right?

Panda Fancy Mug Cup Set with Spoon

4) A cute Cairn Terrier that looks exactly like our dog (her best friend!)

Mug:

Sitting Cairn Terrier Mug by CafePress

Our dog (doesn’t the mug look just like her?!):

Maddie

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

5) The Titanic,  her Panda obsession pales in comparison to the Titanic,  she has read every book, watched every documentary and we even visited one of the museums last summer (and yes,  we have  titanic ornament on our tree).

Titanic Ornament

 

 

 

 

 

I have no explanation for her intrigue on this subject,  I just go with it.

TITANIC Anniversary Mug by CafePress

You can see my dilemma,  all of these mugs represent something fun yet significant in our life.  They are all perfectly suited to enjoy her delicious Keurig Kcup hot cocoas and Chai Lattes out of.

Soooo which one should I buy??  Help!  Leave a comment with your choice. Thank you for your assistance in making this decision : )

6 thoughts on “Show Us Your Mug

  1. Number 4…. Cute little girl with a cute cup.. When our kids were little we would pull them in a sled to our nearst cafe and buy hot chocolate.. A simple memory they have never forgotten..

  2. I vote for the Christmas Story Mug. It is my second favorite Christmas movie behind Christmas Vacation, but still a great movie. Seeing that mug with the big pink bunny footy pajamas would make me laugh every time I pulled out the mug to use it.

Leave a Reply

