Homemade Chocolate Covered Espresso Beans


Can you believe it is already December?  Time is flying, before we know it, the holidays will be here.  It is time to start our hunt of thoughtful gifts for our family and friends!  Cross Country Cafe is here to help.  Through the last-minute in December we will be running this new series of posts sharing great coffee lover gifts and where to buy them… could we make it any easier for you?!

Coffee Gifts

 

 

Lately,  I have been enthralled with the idea of a homemade Christmas.  I dream of a tree adorned with ornaments made by myself and my children.  I long to abandon the rush from store to store filling up my cart with meaningless things.  I wish for a day that I can announce we are no longer following the norm,  this year we are making each other beautiful, thoughtful gifts.  Then my family will call 911 because they will think I am nuts.  So I have decided to start with baby steps and a few simple projects to get everyone warmed up to the idea of a simplified holiday.

This week I made handmade ornaments that turned out so perfect!  I wish I could show you a picture but,  I am quite sure the recipients may be reading this : ) Next on the list is a large batch of chocolate covered espresso beans.  How fun is that?!

Chocolate Covered Espresso Beans

 

I think this will make a perfect gift for a few coffee freaks in my life AND I can make them for soooo much less than they are sold for at the store.  I actually have a bag of 5 tiny beans in my cupboard right now that cost $1.99- that is highway robbery!  I will be using Marley Coffee Kingston City Roast Espresso priced at $25.00 for  2 pounds! I have 5 of the smaller sized blue tint Ball jars to fill as well as several small bags that should hold about a handful each.  After filling all of that I am quite sure I will still have left overs for myself!

I have not made these before but,  here is my plan:

I will need:

1-2lb bag of Marley Coffee Kingston City Roast Espresso

1-bag Ghiradelli dark chocolate chips

1-bag Ghiradelli milk chocolate chips

Melt each type of chip in a separate double boiler or microwave safe dish.  Place a handful of beans at a time into each and stir to coat.  Once all of the chocolate is used and the beans are thoroughly covered lay the beans out on wax paper lined cookie sheets.  Place the sheets in the freezer to chill.  When the chocolate is solid,  fill the jars and bags, tie twine around them for decoration.  Eat the left over beans until I am sick.

What do you think,  good gift?  I know I would love it,  I hope that my loved ones will as well!

 

Leave a Reply

