How to Make Espresso


how to make espresso

There are several ways to make espresso.  Today I would like to teach you what is rapidly becoming my favorite method- the stove top espresso maker also known as a Moka Pot.

stovetop espresso maker

I am instantly drawn to the beauty of the unit itself. The iconic design is sleek yet has an old world charm and old world charm is right up my alley. Of course the price is pretty appealing as well- I paid less that $9.00 including shipping-there is a link at the bottom of this post for your shopping pleasure : )

The Moka Pot consists of three very removable, very washable parts.  The water chamber, the filter and the central column.

moka pot pieces

Start by filling the water chamber with bottled or filtered water- good water makes good coffee. You should fill the chamber to directly below the pressure valve (the gold colored thingamajig) which is slightly more than half way.

bottom of stove top espresso maker

Perhaps the most important  step to brewing in the Moka Pot is to choose a high quality espresso bean.  I am using a Marley Coffee Lively Up Organic 5 Bean Espresso Blend. Arent they gorgeous…(I wish there was an app that allowed you to smell them- iSniff?).

marley coffee lively up espresso beans

Start by grinding the beans to your preference.  I have not quite mastered that part, I have been grinding mine very finely which I generally enjoy but, I have read that could cause the Moka Pot to clog.  In addition, I ended up with some solids at the bottom of my cup. Next time I am going to try a course grind to compare the difference.

Next place the ground coffee in the filter section of the espresso maker.

My Moka Pot is very small, I used 1 T of grinds and it was completely full.  This make 1 cup of espresso.

espresso grinds in stove top perculator

Next, reassemble your Moka Pot and place it on the stove top on high heat.

espresso on the stovetop #2

Dont go anywhere because it will heat up very quickly.  You should start to hear it boil.  The boiling water will be sent up through the filter and ground coffee into the main chamber. I took a peek but, be careful it splatters quite a bit when you open the lid.

espresso on the stovetop

You will know that your espresso is ready when you hear a last puff and the boiling stop- mine takes maybe three minutes from start to finish.

Next, this is crucial, choose a super cool espresso cup. The whole reason I wrote this post was so that I could show off my new set of Demitasse cups – I LOVE THEM!  I feel uber sophisticated drinking my freshly ground, freshly brewed espresso in my perfect, tiny cups.

(And I couldn’t wait to use the term Demitasse which is fancy talk for small cup)

espresso with cream in demitasse cup

The simplicity of using the Moka Pot to brew espresso is irresistible to me.  Similar to the French Press, I feel as if it has an artistic flair, its raw… there is nothing synthetic about this process.  The best part of course are the results… one darn good cup of espresso.

P.S. You can use the Moka Pot to brew any type of coffee not just espresso!

Resources:

Marley Coffee Lively Up Organic Espresso 5 bean blend

Primula Aluminum 1-Cup Stovetop Espresso Coffee Maker

Proctor Silex E160BY Fresh Grind Coffee Grinder, White

12-pc. Demitasse Set – White

One thought on “How to Make Espresso

  1. Coffee Recipe- Cafe Con Panna – Cross Country Cafe

Leave a Reply

