How to Roast Coffee Beans at Home in the Oven


Last week I shared with you my latest experiment- home roasting green coffee beans.  In my first attempt I used a popcorn popper.  You can read that post here but, basically it went…well…ok.  The coffee was good enough but just slightly odd.

As my experiment continues I am researching many different ways to roast green coffee beans at home.  In doing so I came across a method that struck me with its simplicity, using a common household piece of equipment- the oven. Could we be wasting our time with all of these fancy roasters, popcorn poppers and pans when all along we have the perfect vessel right in front of us?

Let’s find out! I started by placing about half a cup of Green Coffee Beans on a foil lined baking sheet.

Green coffee beans on foil lined baking sheet

In doing my research a.k.a. watching You Tube videos, I failed to pay attention to what temperature the oven should be set at so I guessed…400 degrees sounds good to me. I placed my beans in the oven, set my timer for 5 minutes, stirred and waited another 5 minutes. This is when it dawned on me that my temperature may be a bit too high.  The beans were already changing color significantly and I was starting to hear the infamous cracking noise that I read so much about.

home roasted coffee beans 10min

I wanted to make sure I had a fairly dark roast coffee so I decided my beans should go back in for 5 more minutes.  After plenty more cracking my timer buzzed and out came a pan of gorgeous, dark brown beans along with a huge waft of smoke…oh well no biggie right, I am sure they will be fine.

I immediately poured them into a colander to cool.

home roasted coffee beans cooling in collander

They looked so much better than the uneven, somewhat orange result I got from the popcorn popper.  I also discovered that this time the beans shed their chaff (sort of like a coffee beans version of an onion peel).

home roasted coffee bean chaff

The easiest way to separate the chaff from the beans is to simply blow on them. Note to self…next time take them outside and do not blow chaff all over the kitchen floor.

At this point I felt like a coffee genius, an official home roaster… I am so cool. But, how will it taste?

home roasted coffee in french press

April’s Brew as I have dubbed it looked ominously dark in my French Press.  But, I did say I wanted a dark roast! Time for the first sip!
home roasted coffee in mugOh my extreme grossness. This was the darkest, cup of coffee I have ever seen. It was so thick and left such legs on the side of my mug I swear it could have gotten up and walked away on its own.  I drank a few sips but in an effort to avoid a bleeding ulcer, I stopped and poured April’s Brew down the drain.  Back to the drawing board.

My name is April and I suck as a home roaster.

Precious Keurig, my coffee safety blanket, oh so perfect every time… I am sorry I have strayed.  Get me a cup of Golden French Toast stat!

 

Leave a Reply

