Keurig Kcup Coffee Recipe- Red Eye


If you have been around awhile you have come to know (and hopefully love) our Monday K-cup coffee recipes.  I love fun, easy to make coffee drinks. They are a simple indulgence that can usually be made with ingredients already in your kitchen. There will be no running to the local coffee shop around here, no sir, we have Keurig’s in our kitchen that make these recipes easy peasy.

Up this week…Devil’s Brew.

Its Monday. I am exhausted from a fun-filled weekend with my Mom. Need…strong coffee…quickly.

Manny years ago I worked at a small coffee shop on a college campus.  I had the evening shift so most of my customers were night school attendees, looking to further their careers or start new ones.  All of them headed to class after either working or taking care of children all day.  My job was to keep them awake in class.   I knew these people needed something a little more than a traditional cup of coffee… Red Eye had to be added to the menu.

Red Eye or as we called it Devil’s Brew is a traditional drip style cup of coffee with and added shot of espresso. You can even go a step further and add a second shot of espresso creating a Black Eye.

This was exactly what I needed this morning and it is very simple to make, so to the kitchen I went.

You will need:

devils brew coffee recipe ingredients

1- Extra Bold Keurig Kcup coffee (I chose Sumatran).

1- shot of espresso

Start by brewing the extra bold Keurig Kcup coffee on the highest water setting of the Keurig brewer (or if you are very brave use the lowest water setting). Next prepare your espresso in your preferred manner, I used a Moka Pot.

You will now have 2 very dark coffees:

sumatran kcup coffee and a shot of espresso

Pour the shot of espresso into your mug of brewed Kcup coffee. This coffee is intended to be consumed black but, I just didn’t have it in me, I needed just a splash of cream to lighten it up a bit.

devils brew keurig kcup coffee with cream

The results will put hair on your chest and a pep in your step, just the pick me up I was looking for! But, use caution, this recipe contains a very high amount of caffeine, you should not attempt this at home if certain health restrictions apply.

Where to buy:

Extra Bold Keurig Kcup coffee

Marleys Lively Up Espresso Whole Bean

Primula Aluminum 1 Cup Stovetop Espresso Maker

2 thoughts on “Keurig Kcup Coffee Recipe- Red Eye

  1. Keurig Kcup Recipe Round Up – Cross Country Cafe

  2. Love is Brewing – Cross Country Cafe

Leave a Reply

