Easy Iced Coffee Using a Keurig Brewer


Keurig Kcup Iced Coffee

Lately, the number one question I have been asked is how to make iced coffee using a Keurig brewer. I am always happy to answer but inside I am thinking…its so self explanatory…ice, coffee, brew, done. Then I remember in this day and age consumers expect things to be complicated!  I am here to re assure you, making iced coffee in a Keurig brewer actually is as simple as it seems.

First, fill a large glass to the tippy top with ice and choose your favorite extra bold Kcup roast.

Iced Hawaiian Kcup coffee

Tullys’s Hawaiian Blend is rapidly becoming my first choice to brew over ice, maybe because it is quite appropriate for a summer beverage!

Next, brew your extra bold Kcup on the lowest water setting of your Keurig brewer, directly into the cup filled with ice.

how to make iced coffee in a keurig brewer

Viola, you now have iced coffee using a Keurig brewer!  You can add cream or sweetner or just drink it black. I like it simple- just a dash of milk.

I told you it was easy!  Perhaps a contributing factor to the confusion is the special “Brew Over Ice”Kcups that you may have seen in the marketplace.  Those are certainly fine to use but, by no means required.  You can brew any Keurig Kcup or tea over ice and have the same results. I prefer using an extra bold Kcup because I like to taste coffee in my coffee!  As with anything relate to Keurig it is your preference.

For an experiment I brewed a regular Kcup over ice to compare to the extra bold that I usually use.

Keurig Kcup Iced Coffee Comparison

I am sure you can guess that the cup on the right is a regular Keurig Kcup (Golden French Toast).  It is significantly lighter and very translucent.  That is ok, just is not for me.

Have you tried brewing Keurig Kcup coffee over ice?  What did you think and what is your favorite roast to use?

Keurig Kcup coffee blog authors bio

7 thoughts on “Easy Iced Coffee Using a Keurig Brewer

  1. I’ve used the ‘brew over ice’ K-cups and like it. But, I generally make 1/2 gallon of cold brew iced coffee every other day or so because I drink that much.

    • Thats a lot of iced coffee!! But, honestly I think I could drink that much easily in the summer! I have been curious about the cold brew, I have never used that method. I think I may need to try that soon : )

  2. I like this blog and I like how you mentioned you don’t need special brew over ice cups. Even though you guys do sell them :). Always seems like those cost a little more (or you get fewer for your money), and to make they don’t taste as good. Usually I just brew up some at night, chill it in the fridge, then add creamer, sweetner, and ice the next day. I use bold Kcups as well but then again, I always use those! I like the Barista Prime.

    • That is a nice simple way to do it! I had a friend that used to make a whole pitcher full of coffee and just keep it in his fridge so he could have iced coffee whenever he wanted!

  3. Favorite Summer Coffee Recipes – Cross Country Cafe

    • You sure can, I use a thick glass measuring cup or a shorter plastic cup with no ice. Brew the Kcup coffee or tea into the cup then pour it into a second cup filled with ice!

Leave a Reply

